Slavery by Another Name

The Wanderings of an Okie Gal

This PBS Documentary is based on a non-fiction book written by Douglas Blackmon in 2008. It showcases a great tragedy in this country. I’m speaking about distorting black history. Even more specifically, I referring to the depths that the white elite (the US government included) went in their extortion of newly ‘freed’ African-Americans to maintain the status quo, keep blacks subordinate to whites, and crush any prosperous futures for black Americans by enslaving them in such a way that made it impossible to live a normal life.

As a member of two groups of people historically oppressed and denied in this country (African-American and Native American), I personally had heard of this as a child. I can’t say I knew of everything mentioned in this documentary though. What do you think? Have you heard of this purposefully obliterated portion of history? Does anyone see any repeats of history here?? I…

View original post 1 more word

3 comments on “Slavery by Another Name

  1. I had a friend over the other night, and we were talking about the treatment of Black folk and why that is. She went on to say something so ridiculous that it didn’t even penetrate my skull. I can’t remember what it was now, but my only reaction was to get her to sit down and watch this video with me. After the video she was in tears and speechless. Traumatized would probably describe her better.

    You would be amazed at the so-called educated Black people who have NO Black education. The same ones who say that fat bastard that slayed Trayvon Martin was right. The very same ones that appear on FoxNews and embarrass themselves.

    I haven’t heard from in a couple of days, maybe I should give her call or something.

Leave a Comment

